Prof. Dr. Cezmi Akdis

Director of the Swiss Institute of Allergy and Asthma Research (SIAF), Davos.

Ordinarius Professor in Zurich University Medical Faculty, and one of the directors of the Christine Kühne-Center for Allergy Research and Education, Davos, Switzerland. Medical degree Uludag University Medical Faculty, Bursa Turkey in 1985.

Specialized on Infectious Disease and Clinical Microbiology 1991, Immunology 1994 in Uludag University, Venia Legendi (Habilitation) University Zurich 2001, Professor University Zurich 2006.



Publications:

ORCHID ID: 0000-0001-8020-019X GOOGLE SCHOLAR ID: Cezmi Akdis

Articles in peer-reviewed journals: 520; editorial articles: 23; unreviewed publications and book chapters: 102; total impact factor of publications: 3511.6; total number of citations: 36'673 average citation per article: 54.04; h-index: 101; first or last author articles cited more than 100 times 63. Thomson Reuters (Clarivate) highly cited author: 2016-2017-2018-2019.

Academic: President of the European Academy of Allergy & Clinical Immunology (14'000 members) between 2011-2013. Executive Committee Member between 2003-2015 and Vice President between 2007-2011. Editor of three Global Atlases. Allergy (written by an international group of 183 opinion leaders, and includes 274 illustrations and 100 tables), Asthma (written by an international group of 80 opinion leaders, and includes 147 illustrations and 46 tables) and Allergic Rhinitis and Chronic Rhinosinusitis (written by an international group of 218 opinion leaders, and includes 269 illustrations and 92 tables). These atlases have been downloaded more than 130'000 copies and 25'000 copies distributed in print. They are translated to Chinese, Spanish, Greek, Portuguese, Russian.

Associate Editor 2007-2015 Journal of Allergy and Clinical Immunology Co-Editor-in-Chief 2015-2017 Dec Journal of Allergy and Clinical Immunology Editor-in-Chief of Allergy 2018 Jan- present

Organizational: Founder and organizer of World Immune Regulation Meetings, Davos I-XIV (600-1000 participants). One of the founders and Past Chair of International Coalition in Allergy and Asthma (iCAALL), a presidents' network between 4 main organizations in the area of allergy and clinical immunology, European Academy, American Academy, American College and World Allergy Organization, and one of the founders and executive committee member of Global Allergy and Asthma European Network (GA²LEN). Ex-Com European Academy of Allergy Clin Immunol 2003-2015, SPC Chair 2005-2007, Vice President 2007-2011, President 2011-2013

Major discoveries from his research group:

Immune regulation and allergen tolerance: Plasticity of antigen-specific T cells 1995, human T regulatory cells 1996, immune suppressive role of histamine receptor 2 2000, human Type 2 NK cell subset 2001, human regulatory NK cells 2007, regulatory innate B cell subset 2017, regulatory innate lymphoid cells 2019.

Epithelial barrier studies: Mechanisms of eczema 2000, mechanisms of epithelial shedding in asthma and chronic rhinosinusitis 2003, endotypes of asthma, chronic rhinosinisitis and atopic dermatitis 2011, epithelial barrier hypothesis for the development of allergic and autoimmune diseases 2017, major environmental changes after 1960s and their effects on the immune system 2019.

Adenylcyclase activating suppressor G-protein coupled receptors; immune regulation by histamine and microbiota 2000- present.

Honors: Honoured with several international honors and awards, such as Ferdinand Wortman Prize, 1996; Hoechst Marion Roussel Award, 1998; Professor Hans Storck Award, 1998; Dr.-Karl Heyer-Preis, 1998; Sedat Simavi Medicine Award, 1998; Allergopharma Award, 2001; European Allergy Research "Gold Medal", 2004; TUBITAK Exclusive Award, 2007; BUSIAD Award 2012; World Allergy Organization Award, 2013; AAAAI, Elliott Middleton Memorial Lecture, 2014; European Federation of Immunology Societies, World Immunology Day Lectures, 2014 and 2017; Honors given by the Ozbekistan Academy of Sciences, 2015 and Capital University of Beijign, 2015, Swiss Society of Allergy Immunology, 2017. Honorary Professor in Capital Medical University, National Tongren Hospital, Beijign Institute of Otolaryngologology, China. Senate Member of the Swiss Academy of Medical Sciences. Honorary Member of the Swiss Society of Allergy Immunology (SGAI-SSAI) and Honorary Member and Fellow of the European Academy of Allergy and Clinical Immunology, Robert Goltz Lecture, Minneapolis University 2019, Kantonal Anerkkennungs Prize, Canton of Grissons 2020.